21-25.10.2019 Un fantastique mystère with Maritza Fuentes


Un fantastique mystère with Maritza Fuentes

Workshop cinema

From Monday, October 21 to Friday, October 25


How is suspense, fear and mystery built up in a film?
How can one build a space just with shadows?

Children and the legacy of cinema history

The workshop invites children to explore these questions by discovering the expressionist cinema and the black cinema of the first half of the 20th century, and then to make, based on a story created by themselves, a collective film inspired by the characteristics staging of these genres.

We chose to offer this movie adventure to children, because we are convinced that the works of Murnau, Lang, Welles, Melville and so many others, directors from the beginning and half of the last century, by their poetic, political and visionary strength, will know how to touch them. These films have inspired and continue to inspire cinematic and plastic creations until now and still feed our imagination.

 


Conduct of sessions in two stages.

– A time for reflection and discussion on the cinema from watching film clips at the beginning of the session (a quarter of the time of the workshop)

– A time for practical creation work that includes writing, pre-production and shooting of the collective film (three quarters of the workshop).

1. See, reflect, discover

At the beginning of the session, we will watch film excerpts, to reflect with the children on the use of light, the framing, and the work of sound in the construction of the emotions and suspense of the films.

Suggested movies for viewing clips: Métropolis (Fritz Lang), Le cabinet du Dr. Caligari (Robert Wiene), Nosferatu (Friedrich Murnau), Le troisième homme (Orson Welles), Quai des Brumes (Marcel Carné), Ivan le terrible (Serguei Eisenstein), Le Samouraï (Jean-Pierre Melville), L’étrange Noël de M.Jack (Tim Burton).

2. Create the collective film

a) Writing

The children will do a work writing in groups then collective around a mystery, a situation to solve. The story will then be transposed into a sequencer that can include drawings, pictures in the descriptions of images and sounds. This sequencer will be the basis for the filming of our film.

b) Getting started and filming preparation

Children will do exercises with filming equipment (camera, cameras, digital recorder, light projectors, feet) and then share in groups for the preparatory work of the shoot. With the help of the speaker and the mediator, they will do the work of preparation and organization of the shooting (preparation of the decoration, objects, tools, drawings).

c) Shooting

In turn during the shooting, the children will be able to become director, assistant director, producer, script, lighting technician, sound technician, actor / actress, extras. They will also participate in groups, additional sound effects that will be recorded separately from the shooting. The children will also, in turn, take photos, still images, on the process of making the film.

At the end of the workshop, we will look at some rushes of the material shot and we will review the sessions.


Axes of reflection

1. Atmosphere and light: the construction of a shadow architecture. As in the expressionist films of the early 20th century.

2. Framing, light, colors and emotions – composition of shots, close-up exercises, wide shots, diving and low-angle shots. These exercises will be adapted according to the story that the children will write.

3. Report sound and image and sound work: out-of-frame, shift. Recording exercises will be done in groups, in parallel with the shooting.

4. Creation of a story in pictures and sounds, without words. As in the silent cinema, but with a work of sound, one of the constraints for the creation of their film, will be to translate the actions and emotions of their written story, in images and sounds, without words.


Maritza Fuentes of Peruvian origin, she is involved in cinema for associations or schools. She is preparing a film, Cartographies of oblivion.

This post is also available in: Français

Share
...

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!

21-25.10.2019 Un fantastique mystère avec Maritza Fuentes


Un fantastique mystère avec Maritza Fuentes

Atelier cinéma

Du lundi 21 octobre au vendredi 25 octobre


Comment se construit le suspens, la peur et le mystère dans un film ?
Comment peut-on construire un espace rien qu’avec des ombres ?

Les enfants et l’héritage de l’histoire du cinéma

L’atelier propose aux enfants d’explorer ces questions en découvrant le cinéma expressionniste et le cinéma noir de la première moitié du XXème siècle, pour ensuite fabriquer, à partir d’un récit créé par eux-mêmes, un film collectif inspiré des caractéristiques de mise en scène de ces genres.

Nous avons choisi de proposer cette aventure de cinéma aux enfants, car nous sommes convaincus que les œuvres de Murnau, Lang, Welles, Melville et tant d’autres, réalisateurs du début et la moitié du siècle dernier, de par leur force poétique, politique et visionnaire, sauront les toucher. Ces films ont inspiré et continuent d’inspirer jusqu’à présent des créations cinématographiques et plastiques et nourrissent encore notre imaginaire.

 


Déroulement des séances en deux temps.

– Un temps pour la réflexion et la discussion sur le cinéma à partir du visionnage d’extraits de films en début de séance (un quart du temps de l’atelier)

– Un temps pour le travail de création pratique qui qui comprend l’écriture, la pré-production et le tournage du film collectif (trois quarts de l’atelier).

1. Voir, réfléchir, découvrir

En début de séance nous regarderons des extraits de films, pour réfléchir avec les enfants sur l’usage de la lumière, le cadrage, et le travail du son dans la construction des émotions et du suspens des films.

Films suggérés pour visionnage d’extraits : Métropolis (Fritz Lang), Le cabinet du Dr. Caligari (Robert Wiene), Nosferatu (Friedrich Murnau), Le troisième homme (Orson Welles), Quai des Brumes (Marcel Carné), Ivan le terrible (Serguei Eisenstein), Le Samouraï (Jean-Pierre Melville), L’étrange Noël de M.Jack (Tim Burton).

2. Créer le film collectif

a) Ecriture

Les enfants feront un travail écriture en groupes puis collectif autour d’un mystère, une situation à résoudre. Le récit sera ensuite transposé en séquencier qui pourra inclure des dessins, des photos dans les descriptifs des images et des sons. Ce séquencier sera la base pour le tournage de notre film.

b) Prise en main technique et préparation du tournage

Les enfants feront des exercices avec le matériel de tournage (caméra, appareils photos, enregistreur numérique, projecteurs lumière, pieds) puis se partageront en groupes pour le travail préparatoire du tournage. Avec l’aide de l’intervenante et de la médiatrice, ils feront le travail de préparation et organisation du tournage (préparation du décor, objets, outillage, dessins).

c) Tournage

À tour de rôle pendant le tournage, les enfants pourront devenir réalisateur, assistant réalisateur, producteur, script, technicien lumière, technicien son, acteur/ actrice, figurants. Ils participeront également en groupes, aux prises de son supplémentaires du bruitage qui seront enregistrés séparément

de la prise d’images. Les enfants feront aussi, à tour de rôle, les prises photos, images fixes, sur le processus de fabrication du film.

En fin d’atelier, on regardera quelques rushes du matériel tourné et on fera un bilan des séances.


Axes de réflexion

1. Atmosphère et lumière : la construction d’une architecture d’ombres. Tel que dans les films expressionnistes du début du XX siècle.

2. Cadrage, lumière, couleurs et émotions – composition de plans, exercices de gros plan, plan large, plongée et contre-plongée. Ces exercices seront adaptés en fonction de l’histoire que les enfants écriront.

3. Rapport son et image et travail du son : hors-cadre, décalage. Des exercices d’enregistrement seront fait par groupes, en parallèle du tournage.

4. Création d’un récit en images et sons, sans parole. Comme dans le cinéma muet, mais avec un travail de son, une des contraintes pour la création de leur film, sera de traduire les actions et émotions de leur récit écrit, en images et sons, sans parole.


Maritza Fuentes

D’origine péruvienne, elle est intervenante en cinéma pour les associations ou les scolaires. Elle prépare un film, Les cartographies de l’oubli.

Share
...

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!