2019-2020 Les machines à remonter le temps with Paul-Emmanuel Odin and Yohan Dumas


Les machines à remonter le temps with Paul-Emmanuel Odin and Yohan Dumas


The revolution of the invention of the cinema did not consist in reproducing the real time, but in reversing it.

It is proposed in this workshop to create a collective creation around the theme Time machines: watching movies and discussions; reading of texts (science fiction, philosophy …); interdisciplinary creation with films, sounds, photography, volume-installation, conferences-public performances…

Reverse history

In this workshop it is proposed to re-read the films upside down, to reread the entire history of cinema in reverse, and since this bizarre question, that of the back of time. The first specialization of the film’s reverse, used since 1895 by the Lumière brothers with various films including the famous Démolition d’un mur, is the spectacular emblem of this philosophical reversal, which is far from being a simple trick. A large collection of documents (films, literary texts, video of artists, music …) is available. Each production will be thought about a collective final form that is the performative film, or session during which participants of all ages activate sounds, images, light … or other actions. Documentary essay, poetry, fiction, experimental … everything will be possible. Other forms will be experimented.


The workshop, one week a month with young people from the neighborhood, including one day a month in connection with other audiences of all ages, will be the opportunity, among others, to perform several performance sessions presented in public: the performance will be performed live with tools from either V-jing, either Max-msp, either other (the programmer artist Guillaume Stagnaro develop tools adapted to this presentation).

These performances can be presented as part of Manifesta for example, or in other settings.

Rejuvenation, reversion, reversal, reversal, regression, and even retrokinesis, narrative retrotemporality, time travel, back-to-back … are presented to us as so many different varieties from the back of time.

It is now a question of taking up and reversing the whole history of cinema, video and photography, literature and philosophy, music and making sense of new interconnections, of new short circuits between the signs of the back of time.

This post is also available in: Français

Share
...

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!

2019-2020 Les machines à remonter le temps avec Paul-Emmanuel Odin et Yohan Dumas


Les machines à remonter le temps avec Paul-Emmanuel Odin et Yohan Dumas


La révolution de l’invention du cinéma n’aura pas consisté à reproduire le temps réel, mais à le renverser.

Il est proposé dans cet atelier de réaliser une création collective autour du thème Les machines à remonter le temps : visionnage de films et discussions ; lectures de textes (science-fiction, philosophie…) ; création interdisciplinaire avec films, sons, photographie, volume-installation, conférences-performances public…

Inverser l’histoire

Dans cet atelier il est proposé de relire les films à l’envers, de relire toute l’histoire du cinéma à l’envers, et depuis cette question bizarre, celle de l’envers du temps. Le premier trucage de la marche arrière du film, utilisé dès 1895 par les frères Lumières avec divers films dont le fameux Démolition d’un mur, est l’emblême spectaculaire de ce renversement philosophique, qui est loin de consister dans un simple truc. Un grand fond de documents (films, textes littéraires, vidéo d’artistes, musiques…)  est mis à disposition. Chaque production sera pensée par rapport à une forme finale collective qui est le film performatif, ou séance pendant laquelle les participants de tout âge activent sons, images, lumière… ou autres actions. Essai documentaire, poésie, fiction, expérimental… tout sera possible. D’autres formes seront expérimentées.


L’atelier, une semaine par mois avec des jeunes du quartier, dont un jour par mois en lien avec d’autres publics de tout âge, sera l’occasion, entre autres, de faire plusieurs séances performatives présentées en public : la performance sera réalisée en direct avec des outils soit de V-jing, soit Max-msp, soit autre (le programmeur artiste Guillaume Stagnaro élaborera des outils adaptés à cette présentation).

Ces performances pourront être présentées dans le cadre de Manifesta par exemple, ou dans d’autres cadres.

Rajeunissement, réversion, retournement, renversement, régression, et même rétrokinésie, rétrotemporalité narrative, voyages dans le temps, l’envers de l’envers… se présentent pour nous comme autant de variétés différentes de l’envers du temps.

Il s’agit bien maintenant, de reprendre  et d’inverser toute l’histoire du cinéma, de la vidéo et de la photographie, de la littérature et de la philosophie, de la musique et de faire jouer le sens de nouvelles interconnections, de nouveaux courts-circuits entre les signes de l’envers du temps. 

Share
...

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!