10.04.10 – 11.04.19 The anti-universe of the cinema with Paul-Emmanuel Odin

THE ANTI-UNIVERSE OF CINEMA

public: from 8 years to 100 years
number of participants: 10

« And the cinematograph, all of a sudden, describes with a clear accuracy a world that goes from its end to its beginning, an anti-universe that, until then, man could hardly imagine. (…) With the first possibility of seeing the world live faster or more slowly, the cinematograph brings the first vision of a universe that can move backwards. Strange spectacle of which the man hitherto had had no idea, no suspicion, except as a phantasmagoria scarcely imaginable. » Jean Epstein

The invention of the cinema was not that of the reproduction of time, but its inversion: from the first screenings of the Lumière cinematograph in 1895, we projected Demolition of a wall at the place and upside down, and the Baths of Diana in Milan, discovering the unheard of spectacle of a cloud of dust and fragments that reconstitute and right before our eyes a wall. Or, the divers would come out of the water and fly to land on the stepping stones. An extraordinary revolution that immediately fascinates and scares.

In film reversal, time and history are out of date. An “anti-universe” shows itself with the astonishing charge of its obviousness, to which an “antilogic” and an “antiphilosophy” correspond. Cinema proves to be more than an art, it is a new way of thinking, it is a philosophy that goes beyond philosophy, integrating the sensitive, the feeling, the irrational, the absurd.

The workshop proposes to watch films that are part of the history of the cinema to create from extracts (from historical films, or from recordings made with the participants) a performative film *, that is to say a poetic lecture that tells the antihistory of the back of time, cinema.

*Éric Bullot (dir.), From the performative film, it: éditions, 2018

This post is also available in: Français

Share
...

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!

10.04.10 – 11.04.19 L’anti-univers du cinéma avec Paul-Emmanuel Odin


« Et le cinématographe, tout-à-coup, décrit avec une claire exactitude un monde qui va de sa fin à son commencement, un anti-univers que, jusqu’alors, l’homme ne parvenait guère à se représenter. (…) Avec la première possibilité de voir le monde vivre plus vite ou plus lentement, le cinématographe apporte la première vision d’un univers qui peut se mouvoir à rebours. Étrange spectacle dont l’homme, jusqu’ici, n’avait eu aucune idée, aucun soupçon, sinon comme d’une fantasmagorie à peine imaginable. »

Jean Epstein


L’antiunivers du cinéma

public : de 8 ans à 100 ans
nombre de participants : 10

L’invention du cinéma n’a pas été celle de la reproduction du temps, mais son inversion : dès les premières projections du cinématographe Lumière en 1895, on projetait Démolition d’un mur à l’endroit et à l’envers,et les Bains de Diane à Milan, découvrant le spectacle inouï d’un nuage de poussières et de fragments qui reconstituent et redressent sous nos yeux un mur. Ou encore, les plongeurs sortaient de l’eau et volaient pour atterrir sur les tremplins. Révolution extraordinaire qui aussitôt fascine et effraie.

Dans l’inversion pelliculaire, le temps et l’histoire sont dépassés. Un « anti-univers » se montre avec la charge d’étonnante évidence qui est la sienne, auquel vient correspondre une « antilogique », et une « antiphilosophie ». Le cinéma se révèle être plus qu’un art, il est une nouvelle façon de penser, c’est une philosophie qui dépasse la philosophie, qui intègre le sensible, le sentiment, l’irrationnel, l’absurde.

L’atelier propose de regarder des films qui font partie de l’histoire du cinéma pour créer à partir d’extraits (de films historiques, ou bien des enregistrements réalisés avec les participants) un film performatif*,  c’est-à-dire une conférence poétique qui raconte l’antihistoire de l’envers du temps, le cinéma.

*Éric Bullot (dir.), Du film performatif, it: éditions, 2018

This post is also available in: ENG

Share
...

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!